Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking about Dumbork (again) – what she’s doing, is she basking, when I realized that turtles are now rising among the ranks of dog and cats heroes in films and literatures today. The turtles are either a minor character or a sidekick, except in the famous comic book-slash-TV series-slash-movie Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I’ve made a search on turtles in popular films and literatures when Wikipedia offered me a long list! Here are a few that I know by heart:

-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle (Red Eared Slider, according to the comics)

-Verne in Over The Hedge (Ornate Box Turtle)

-Master Oogway in Kung Fu Panda (Galapagos Tortoise)

-Tuck the Turtle in Wonder Pets (Red Eared Slider)

-Crush and Squirt in Finding Nemo (Australian Sea Turtle)

-Agent T in Phineas and Ferb (Sea Turtle)

-Terry the Turtle [Orange] in Phineas and Ferb – Videogame (Box Turtle)

 

A memorable turtle from my childhood is Pong Pagong. Ompong Pagong was a character in the Filipino children’s show Batibot. Ompong was in the form of a turtle standing on its hind legs. Like Big Bird of Sesame Street, Ompong was an enlarged small-animal character, standing over six feet tall and towering over human co-stars and aged to be around six years old.

There is also a slew of literature regarding turtles. From our country alone, I know 4 stories by memory:

-The Legend of the Turtle/The Noisy (Talkative) Turtle

-The Tortoise and the Hare

-The Scorpion and the Turtle

– The Tortoise and the Monkey

 

The first story is an original one from my country — the Tortoise and the Monkey (Si Pagong at Si Matsing), written by the national hero, Dr. Jose Rizal. The next story explains why the turtle have marks on its back. I researched a bit and found out that our version of the Legend of the Turtle is somehow based on the fable The Noisy (Talkative) Turtle. The two remaining fables also have different versions from all around the world, coming from Aesop (Ancient Greece) and the Panchatantram (India).

Another story that stirred my memory came from Dr. Seuss, with the title of “Yertle the Turtle”. I love Dr. Seuss. In my young mind, the story is easy to read, the pictures are colorful, and the characters are fun and easy to recognize.

I’ve compiled the stories in a .pdf file. Read it and tell me what you think!

Stories about Turtles

Do you know any turtle movies/stories that you want to share? Let me know! 🙂

