Tags

, , , , , , ,

So this weekend we celebrated my birthday. We went home to Bulacan to celebrate. Unfortunately we cannot bring Dumbork so we have to leave him in the hands of my mother. I left her a very detailed instruction regarding feeding, handling, and changing of water. I was a bit worried because even thought the UVB lamp arrived that Friday (June 29), I wasn’t able to set it up yet.

That was a rainy weekend too, so basking under the sun was not an option. Usually, I would bring Dumbork to the roof so that he can get unfiltered sunlight very morning.

 

On Sunday afternoon I set up his ATBA. I have been using the ATBA 2.0 (as seen in my previous post) since Sunday evening. On Monday night, I saw him go slowly up, as if testing his surroundings.

Dumbork with his leg extended

Last night, he basked for just three minutes, from 6:50-6:53 pm. Also, I saw him yawn 3 times. It was so cute. After that, he darted back to the water.

on his ATBA – i was careful not to make any movement.

I’ll be home this weekend so I will be able to watch him. If the sun is up, we’ll bask on the roof again.

Yesterday, it rained whole day, so I was a bit afraid for Dumbork’s water temperature dropping. I’ve purchased a number of things on Monday so I was able to check them out.

Resun Aquarium Fish Tank Submersible Suction Glass Thermometer STO3 – with reading at 80F

 

I’m happy to note that the normal cold tap water temperature is around 80-82F. I was worried before because I had no water thermometer and no way to check the water temperature. The ideal temperature is 75-82F. Too cold and the RES will have RI. Too warm and it will cause shedding.

 

Here is the timeline:

 

5:45 pm – July 3

Temperature of water – 80F

Temperature of Basking area with UVB + heat – 90F

Temperature of Basking area without UVB +heat – 82F

 

9:00 pm – July 3

Temperature of water – 80F

Temperature of Basking area with UVB + heat – turned off UVB + heat at this time

Temperature of Basking area without UVB +heat – 82F

 

7:00 am – July 4

Temperature of water – 80F

Temperature of Basking area with UVB + heat – 94F

Temperature of Basking area without UVB +heat – 82F

 

The temperatures are decreasing because of a low pressure area yesterday. Hopefully the temperatures will be up for the rest of the week.

