I’m measuring the normal room temperature for 1 week to get the average temperature in our room. I’m also computing the basking temperature set by a 60 watt incandescent bulb. The ideal basking temp is 90-95 degrees Fahrenheit.

room thermometer to measure heat

I wanted to create an Above Tank Basking Area or ATBA, but I still need some supplies. The idea came from the various turtle forum I’ve been visiting in the past weeks. The basking area is set above the tank, with the ramp hanging/suspended so that Dumbork can have access to it.

this is my ATBA inspiration. i made the walls higher so he can’t climb out.

Credit to the owner of the picture above, taken from http://www.redearslider.com

The basking area is composed of four square barbecue grill, connected by cable ties. I will soon decorate the 3 sides, while the floor will be covered with a green carpet.

green mat

These are still just plans because I’m still waiting for some supplies. I’m hoping to get the zoo med’s Mini Deep Dome Combo lamp fixture, and a 2-in-1 UVB +heat lamp. This set-up will be suspended above the ATBA, positioned carefully so that Dumbork will receive the correct and optimum heat from the lamps.

Zoo Med’s Mini Deep Dome Combo Lamp Fixture
I’m hoping to get this from http://herpaholicanonymous.multiply.com/photos/album/18/ON-HAND-Reptile-Supplies

